The Federal States: political profiles

The Federal Republic of Germany has 16 states - the Bundesl√§nder. The five East German states - Brandenburg,  Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, and Thuringia (as well as east Berlin) - were incorporated into the Federal Republic in 1990 with German reunification. Federalism means that each state has its own parliament and government and is responsible for … Continue reading The Federal States: political profiles

Armin Laschet: the continuity candidate of ‘measure and middle’

Shortly before the current leader of Germany's CDU, Annegret Kramp-Karrenbauer, announced she was stepping down, Armin Laschet joked, "Is Germany ready for a male Chancellor?" Not long after that, the 58 year old Prime Minister of Germany's largest state, North-Rhine Westphalia (NRW), surprised many by making his bid to be CDU leader. Armin LaschetPhoto: Sandro … Continue reading Armin Laschet: the continuity candidate of ‘measure and middle’