The Federal States: political profiles

The Federal Republic of Germany has 16 states - the Bundesländer. The five East German states - Brandenburg,  Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, and Thuringia (as well as east Berlin) - were incorporated into the Federal Republic in 1990 with German reunification. Federalism means that each state has its own parliament and government and is responsible for … Continue reading The Federal States: political profiles

Political parties in the Bundestag

The 2017 election saw a drop in support for the government coalition partners, the CDU/CSU Union (minus 65 seats) and the SPD (minus 40), while the far-right populists, the Alternative for Germany, entered the Bundestag for the first time with 94 seats. The FDP, which had failed to meet the 5% hurdle in 2013, re-entered … Continue reading Political parties in the Bundestag

The Federal Cabinet

The 24th Federal Cabinet, formed in March 2018 following the coalition negotiations after the 2017 election, is composed of 16 politicians - 6 from the CDU, 3 from the CSU and 6 from the SPD. Of these, 9 are men and 7 women. Only two ministers (Merkel and Giffey) come from East German states. The … Continue reading The Federal Cabinet

Political glossary

Amendments (Änderungsanträge) Amendments to bills which have the support of at least 5% of members can be tabled by individual MPs or a parliamentary group. Basic Law (Grundgesetz) The Basic Law is the constitution of the Federal Republic, which came into force in May 1949. Any changes in the Basic law require a two thirds … Continue reading Political glossary